A weekend from the weekend…

On Friday I mentioned how much I was looking forward to a relaxing weekend. My weekend was many things but relaxing was not one of them!

It all started Friday when we decided to check out one of Lakewood’s newest restaurant/bars, Deagan’s Kitchen, for dinner. If you are familiar with the area, it is in the space that once housed Cleats and Crazy Ritas. Deagan’s was refreshing because it is one of few bars in Lakewood that (thankfully/finally!) are not targeted at college kids and fake-id carrying customers.

After we were told the wait for a table was 45 minutes, we opted to enjoy dinner while sitting at the bar. Dean and I have quite the (unhealthy) obsession with chicken wings so we easily ordered some as an appetizer. They were flavorful but perhaps too saucy. I can easily admit that we are wing snobs. 🙂

Since I had a late lunch, I only ordered the small plate eggplant parmesan and Dean indulged in the duck confit mac and cheese. My mini-meal hit the spot while Dean struggled to consume half his bowl of creamy decadence. Of course I snuck in a few bites and it was Heavenly!

We agreed we enjoyed the meal and the space so we will be back! We even ran into a few tweeps, hi Jason and Narm!

Saturday I got my hairs did and my cousin convinced me to get the Keratin treatment – so I booked my appointment to come back to see her in 2 weeks. I am beyond excited however I am still waiting to tell the BF he needs to say buh-bye to my curls.

Cabela meets the lobster. This is after I was chased around after the rubberbands were taken off the claws 🙂

Since Heinen’s was having a sale, J and Dean convinced us girls that it was a perfect night to have a ‘lobster and clam bake.’ I have to admit that they were right! What was supposed to be a casual evening in the garage with some close friends ended up in a Lady Gaga dance party on my coffee table with MMR (hey, my best friend is only home every couple months!). She also decided she was going to come home to go to Gaga with me – we are currently masterminding our little monster outfits.

My dad feeding Cabela corn on the cob. Ozzy came over and had some, too!

After lobsters were had by all, it was time for out first bonfire of the season. It’s kind of sad we haven’t had any bonfires in the backyard yet, but renovations have taken priority.

MMR and I stayed up until 3 a.m.! I can’t remember the last time I did that…maybe it’s a good thing we commiserate only a few times a year!

My dance partner!

Once Sunday rolled around you would think I would be pooped out. For some odd reason I thought it was be a brilliant idea to meet Napes out for the Browns game. So Malloy’s it was…enter more chicken wings and beer!

Colt McCoy showed some promise but James Harrison single-‘helmeted’ Cribbs and Mo Mass outta the game…the second half was ugly so we drowned our sorrows with tall bud lights.

Can I press rewind and have my weekend back?! Sometimes ya just need QT with your friends…the laundry and chores will be waiting for me at home tonight 😉 At least I managed to get a run in on Saturday…I know I sure needed it!

Good luck this week, friends. Glad that I only have a 4-day work week since I will be in my first wedding of all time this weekend! I can’t wait to see all my lovlies!

How was your weekend??

2 responses to “A weekend from the weekend…

  1. Mine was just as busy! Too busy actually. Hence, why I’m at home today and not at work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

