It’s all in the playlist

Do you ever experience lulls in your workout? (Stupid question) Of course you do, we all do. With the slight change in weather this past week, I realized outside runs will be ending in the next few months (ahhh!!!). Running outside 5 miles doesn’t faze me, however, running 5 miles on a treadmill is living Hell as far as I’m concerned.

Please help! I need new music!

In a premature preparation to keep what I call the ‘treadmill dread’ at bay, I need to create a fresh playlist. I’ve been listening to the same massive playlist I made for the Cleveland Half Marathon and it’s definitely time to change things up. I prefer to have playlists with about one hundred songs on them. That way I can shuffle any given playlist and not get bored with my tunes, but it’s time for something new, something that I can take with me to the treadmill!

This is where I need your suggestions! Here is what I’ve started with (I’ll end up stealing many songs from my old playlists to fill the void!):

Ben Folds- You Don’t Know Me (feat Regina Spektor)
Rolling Stones- Don’t Stop
Usher- OMG
Cat Stevens- Wild World
Lady Gaga- Telephone (feat Beyonce)
Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers- Wildflowers
Eminen feat Rihanna- Love the Way You Lie
Kings of Leon- Crawl
Bon Jovi- Wanted (Dead or Alive)
The Black Keys- Howlin’ for You
Rod Stewart- This Old Heart of Mine
Katy Perry- California Gurls
The Pretenders- Back on the Chain Gang
Johnny Cash- Walk the Line (Live)
Stevie Nicks- Edge of Seventeen
Kenny Chesney- Guitars and Tiki Bars

Obviously, I have an eclectic taste in music, but I need fresh ideas! Absolutely no screamo, or twangy country will ever end up on my itunes but Backstreet Boys’ ‘The Call’ is. What tunes are always on your playlist? Or do you know of a website that has great playlists?

One response to “It’s all in the playlist

  1. Hey Alana. You might try http://www.inthegym.net/. It’s got some nice playlists categorized by workout type and genre. You can stream them online and each one’s already in iTunes for you to purchase.

Leave a Reply

