The Queens of Leon

Often, my job presents me with very cool opportunities. One of those opportunities happened to come up earlier this week. I was approved to shoot photos at the Kings of Leon concert at Blossom. I was pretty stoked for the concert since I’ve been a fan of the band before they were ‘mainstream.’

Myself and CP making the best out of the night!

I was bringing my friend, CP, along for the ride. Two of our close friends (I’ll call them ‘the brothers’) were already planning on riding on a party bus and realized there were two empty seats, so they invited us. I thought, ‘Hell, why not?’ I loathe the drive to Blossom as is and I thought it would be a good time. I was a bit mistaken.

I guess riding on a party bus with 4 close friends and 20 random people wasn’t the best idea. Without getting too gory, I’ll just say they were all about the party, not all about the music. The concert happened to be on a Monday (which was kind of a bummer), so I was leaving my party pants at home. I am by no means a party-pooper, I love to party!!! But it was a bit out-of-control. I needed a few beers (just to relax!).

Kings of Leon singer, Caleb Followill.

I left the crew behind to slam beers while I headed down to the stage, got yelled at by security while waiting (apparently the KOL don’t like it when photographers shoot the fans, WTF), waited and waited some more. A general rule of thumb when shooting concerts is photogs can shoot the first three songs, no flash. I always have a good time doing this. You’re right up in front of the band!

So, I shot my photos for 3 songs (Crawl, Notion, Taper Jean Girl) then found the drunks group on the lawn. Literally, people were passed out surrounded by piles of vom. Easy tiger. At least CP and the brothers were there to hang with for the rest of the concert.

Easy on the eyes, Michael Followill.

However, the rest of the concert was lacking energy and full of excuses. The lead singer, Caleb Followill, was whining complaining about a sore throat in-between shots of Jack Daniels. My friends who were (mostly) sober were disappointed, as was I! Imagine all the money people spend to see their favorite band, only to have them put basically no effort into their performance. There was zero, zilch, nada interaction with the crowd.

I can’t lie, we we’re dreading the bus ride home, but it wasn’t all that bad (all the boozers passed out! yeah!!).

I guess I should have stayed home for the Kings of LambOn party.

All the photos I shot at the Kings concert.

Did you go to the KOL show? What did you think?

One response to “The Queens of Leon

  1. Sounds like the beer slamming and everyone passed out was the highlight of the show … What a bummer

Leave a Reply

